Return to Home

On My Honor ... The Hawk Mountain Story ... 1908-2010

The Hawk Mountain Council Centennial Memory Book!

Price Reduced from $50 to Only $25


Chapter 13

The Eagle Scout

The 1910 Boy Scouts of America Official Handbook listed the highest award as the Silver Wolf. It was awarded to anyone who earned all 14 of the merit badges that were listed in that book. These merit badges were: Ambulance, Clerk, Cycling, Electrician, Fireman, Gardener, Horseman, Marksmanship, Master-of-Arms, Musician, Pioneer, Seamanship, Signaler, and Stalkers. The Silver Wolf award was mentioned under the Badges of Merit Section, but was considered a “special award.” It was not considered a rank or class. In the 1911 Boy Scouts of America Handbook For Boys, the Star Scout Badge and Life Scout Badge were introduced as badges but Eagle was listed as the “highest Scout merit badge.”

  • The over 5,000 Eagle Scouts of Hawk Mountain Council
  • Eagle Requirements from 1911 to 2010
  • The Eagle medal and patch
  • Some Eagles: the Alley brothers, Bob Bates, Tom Beaver, Scotty Bradbury, Don Bradbury, Tom & Albert Davis, Carl Fetzer, Mark Abramowicz, John Grimes, Michael Hasker, Stewart Haggerty, Randall Keinard, James Keiser, Bernie Marquardt, Jonathan Maziekas, John Ochs, George Pinkey, Jim Shadel, Clifford Weinhold, Jeffrey Warmkessel, Michael Yeakley, Douglas Young, and many more
Order Your Copy Today

    HMC Book Project
    5027 Pottsville Pike
    Reading, PA 19605-1284

Return to Top


Reading Eagle, January 25, 2009 (1.2 MB PDF)

Republican Herald, January 26, 2009 (1.8 MB PDF)

Kutztown Patriot, February 12, 2009 (0.5 MB PDF)

Greater Reading East Merchandiser, August 18, 2010 (1.8 MB PDF)

Greater Reading North Merchandiser, August 18, 2010 (2.1 MB PDF)

Greater Reading West Merchandiser, August 18, 2010 (2.2 MB PDF)

Return to Top

Home Page

This page was created in Adobe Dreamweaver and TextWrangler by . Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional