Return to Home

On My Honor ... The Hawk Mountain Story ... 1908-2010

The Hawk Mountain Council Centennial Memory Book!

Price Reduced from $50 to Only $25


Chapter 11

Scouting’s National
Honor Society -

The Order of the Arrow

The Order of the Arrow (OA) recognizes Scouts who, as identified by their peers, best exemplify the ideals of Scouting in their daily lives. Rooted in American Indian lore and traditions, and influenced by the ideals of various organizations and authors, the OA also aims to develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit, promote Scout camping, and launch the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others. More than 1 million Scouts and Scouters have been inducted into the OA since it was started during the summer of 1915 by E. Urner Goodman, director of the Philadelphia Council’s summer camp. The program is now a national program of the Boy
Scouts of America.

  • E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A Edson at Treasure Island
  • Wimachtendienk, Wingolauchsik, Witahemui
  • The Lenni Lenape
  • The Order of the Arrow
  • Minsi Lodge 5, Memeu Lodge 125, & Kittatinny Lodge 5
  • NOAC
  • Lodge Chiefs, Advisers, and Founders Awards
Order Your Copy Today

    HMC Book Project
    5027 Pottsville Pike
    Reading, PA 19605-1284

Return to Top


Reading Eagle, January 25, 2009 (1.2 MB PDF)

Republican Herald, January 26, 2009 (1.8 MB PDF)

Kutztown Patriot, February 12, 2009 (0.5 MB PDF)

Greater Reading East Merchandiser, August 18, 2010 (1.8 MB PDF)

Greater Reading North Merchandiser, August 18, 2010 (2.1 MB PDF)

Greater Reading West Merchandiser, August 18, 2010 (2.2 MB PDF)

Return to Top

Home Page

This page was created in Adobe Dreamweaver and TextWrangler by . Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional